Knitting Hats and Cat Toys

Hi everyone!

It was a snowy morning and afternoon here in Pennsylvania! Ah, the snow in April – what a wonderful thing. Watching the snow fall is so peaceful and nice it just makes me want to curl up with a cup of tea and a good book. Or a skein of yarn and a project in mind. Either is fine with me. But April is a crazy month for us college students. It’s when our professors are like: “Oh no! The semester is ending and I still have all this material to get through – time to cram in every test and project and work we possibly can!” Meanwhile the rest of campus is like: “Oh no! The semester is ending and we still need to have x amount of honor society inductions, y amount of banquets, z amount of meetings, and however many events we can squeeze in to these last 4 weeks!” Hence, my calendar is booked with every weekend crammed full with social events, inductions, concerts, etc. And in my “free time” I’m left studying for a quiz on Tuesday or a test on Monday or another test in another class on Friday. And oh yeah – how about that homework assignment I was supposed to work on last night but instead decided to SLEEP. The stresses of college life.

Today I attended the annual math club picnic. I know what you’re thinking – math? Picnic? Didn’t you just say it was snowing? Well it just so happens that I am a math nerd and don’t be surprised if you find a blog post in the near future about the correlation between knitting and math or knitting and programming. I’m sure it will make its way here soon. But yes, a picnic AKA having lunch with a bunch of math nerds hosted by one of the math professors here. It was lots of fun!

Anyway, my day started with baking cupcakes for the picnic. So with a box of Girl Scout Cookies under my bed and a quick run to the convenient store across from campus, I baked Thin Mint Cheesecake Cupcakes that were delicious! It’s a very easy recipe and doesn’t take too much time. They came out great if I do say so myself. Here’s a picture of them right after I took them out of the oven.

20160409_102424

Thin Mint Cheesecake Cupcakes

Since I knew I was going to my professor’s house for the picnic, I knew I was going to see his adorable cats, Bigfoot and Lola. He mentions them all the time in class. Especially Bigfoot – who by the way is huge and such a lovebug. I decided that I couldn’t show up empty handed with nothing for them, so I quickly made up some cat toys for them. I simply just made 2 pom-poms.

20160409_111847

Pom-pom cat toys

To make one of these is very simple:

  • You don’t need much yarn, so scrap yarn is just fine
  • Wrap the yarn around your hand approximately 60 times
  • Cut the yarn
  • Take the yarn off your fingers and cut a separate piece of yarn
  • Wrap and tie the yarn in the opposite direction of the yarn that was around your fingers
  • Cut the loops carefully, and then once the loops are cut, even it out by trimming the ends

Bigfoot wasn’t very impressed. He’s pretty lazy but like I said – he’s a huge cat. And Lola hid the entire time so I didn’t even get to see her.

Grandma has had a less eventful day and was probably way more productive than me with doing her homework and studying and whatever else Grandma does. But she has finished her hat that she has been working on! A pattern for it will be available soon, she just needs to put it up on Ravelry first. We will let you all know when it goes online!

Untitled

Crown Hat by Grandma

That’s all I have for you today!

Have a great day!

– Kitty

5 comments

  1. Nicky · April 10, 2016

    Those baked goods look amazing! Glad you had a great time at the picnic despite the snow. Snow in April … so very strange but made for a wonderful day; I spent the day planning and spinning.

    Liked by 2 people

    • grandmakitty · April 10, 2016

      Nothing wrong with a day of spinning =) and thank you! They are quite tasty

      Like

  2. Marc-André · April 11, 2016

    I wish I was better at stuff like this and I’d make toys for my two kitties haha

    Like

    • grandmakitty · April 11, 2016

      In my experience, just a small ball of yarn will usually do the trick. Haha! But of course, monitor them when playing with yarn in case they decide to eat it. My beautiful Riley girl loves to sit with me while I knit, but she also enjoys chewing on my yarn which does not make it fun for me to work with. Also, when she was a kitten she ate a piece of yarn. Thank goodness it didn’t make her sick and found it in her litter box the next day.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Marc-André · April 12, 2016

        We have a pretend ball of yarn. Bought it in Japan and it’s basically a solid ball with yarn style around it. Both of mine love it and no risk of being eaten xD

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

